Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Imaging the transit of Mercury

jambouk

How are others planning to image the transit of Mercury?

Having a play in the garden this morning, and waiting for clouds to clear, I think I'm going to go for a white light sun, and use my DSLR with a Powermate. I appreciate Mercury will be very small, but hopefully a stack of 10-20 images from throughout the day will allow the path of Mercury to be evident.

I thought about using the ZWO, but I like the idea of a full disc, even thought Mercury will be small, and the relative ease of framing with the DSLR vs the ZWO. I have access to a Quark, but again I have limited experience of these and don't want to be learning how to use it on the day, and I'm not even sure that would be a good technique to use.

James

Well there is no real rush as the event will last for hours, I only really have the one mount so will be chopping and changing my Reflector with my Ha scope.

I'm pretty sure that after a while the white light reflector will warm up too much in the Sun and any imaging will likely be terrible so I may just use that at the start a bit. Also with Ha I should be able to get quite a lot of but a full disc will have to be a mosaic I guess. Not sure what I will really do, best get some practice in beforehand.

One thing that has always bothered me with transit events is what is the best way to process the sun behind the moving object.

Good questions! My intention, cloud willing, is to do a white light full disk with DSLR through my EdgeHD 800 with reducer. One shot every minute to create a roughly 30 second timelapse and then use a few key frames to create a still montage.

One issue I have tried to address is how low the Sun will be as Mercury moves off the Sun's disk... Low... and my garden hedge will almost definitely get in the way, so I am trying to arrange an alternative location to set up.

Let's just hope that the weather is kind to us.