Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Interstellar "planets"

Leaving the classification of these bodies aside, if there are planet-like entities outside the reach of solar systems, would they rotate on their axis?

I know very little about physics, but I was under the impression the fact planets orbit a star in some way contributes to their own spin. But would planets between solar systems have this force inflicted upon them? If there was no spin they would surely fall apart...

Anyone clever and able to explain this all to a thickie?

James

I am no scientist but my gut feeling is that the very process of ejection would have given their spin a kick which could last a quite a while if a rocky Planet but maybe degrade quite fast if it was a gas giant but how this effects its ability to hang onto its atmosphere I have no idea.

Alan

Planets get their rotation from their original formation and will retain it forever unless something interferes.  In the case of moons that show the same face to their planets (tidally locked) they still rotate but their rate of rotation ("Day") has been slowed by tidal effects so that it matches the rate of their orbit ("Year") so they show the same face. They are still rotating though.

I have no idea why you think their rotation has anything to do with holding them together. If anything, rotation would threaten to disrupt if fast enough (Saturn for example is significantly flattened at the poles because of its fast rotation).

ps

@Bomberbaz

The Moon rotates just fine (if slowly) as does Mercury:

Rotation period:

Moon: 27.3 days

Mercury: 88 days

The slowest rotational period in our solar system is Venus:  243 days (which is longer than its year)

41 minutes ago, Knighty2112 said:

Yes, they do rotate, but the rotation is synchronised to the same rotation period around the sun and the earth. 

therefore to us the moon does not rotate, potatoe potatoe i think. ( i will give you mercury) :grin: