Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How strong and sturdy is a SkyWatcher 250 PX tube?

Hello!

I am new to the world of observing and now have my first serious scope - the SkyWatcher 250 PX Dobsonian.  I always imagined I would be a telescope hypochondriac but actually carrying the tube around puts the fear in me worse than I expected.

So really what I want to know is, is it relatively difficult or easy to dent the tube of this scope or other Dobs in general while carrying it around by hand?

There is of course a lot of pressure on the tube from the hard parts of the palm of my hands and it worries me.  I'm a short guy so carrying it around at the moment and trying to cradle it against my body isn't a very easy task.

Would the tube be susceptible to bending if I put it down somewhere where it is resting on the ends and not so much in the middle?  I've seen people who carry it by hooking straps to the ends and this would apply there too I imagine...

Along the same lines, if the lenses got dented from the holding screws would this render them useless or would they still be usable?

Sorry if some of these are silly questions, but this is the first place I'm asking any questions regarding my new scope so I basically know nothing at the moment and need that reassurance :p

You may benefit from fixing some carry handles on your tube if it's hard to move around. You can get all sorts from diy stores but I would favour metal ones like these: http://www.altairastro.com/altair-telescope-carry-handle.html

They're shown on a refractor with tube rings here, but on your dob you'd need to strengthen the joint with a plate on the inside to spread the weight of each fixing nut/bolt. Hth :)