Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Heart Nebula Help

Rodd

Greetings all.  I am bumping into that omnipresent wall...frustration!  For a little history,  I am new to imaging (been at it about 1 month), and am finding the processing learning curve to be somewhat overwhelming--beginning with what software to use.  I use Nebulosity and PixInsight for the most part (actually I have the PixInsight 45 day free trial  and am trying to decide whether I should buy it--it expires in 2 days!).  I also have AIP$win 2.0.  I have trouble with the concept of a monthly subscription (PS) as over 10-20 years it will add up to a huge amount.  However, I'm beginning to think it may be the way to go.   The following pics are of the Heart Nebula taken with a TeleVue np101is (.8x reducer), Astrophysics Mach 1, SBIG STT 8300.  The image consists of HaRGB.  Note Ha was used as the L channel only.   Total Exposure time was 14.7 hours (Ha: 11 x 20 min, R: 11 x 20 min, G: 11 x 20 min, B, 11 x 20 min) at a temp of -45C.  I used a master dark composed of 21 20 minute dark frames at -45C.  The image was calibrated, aligned, normalized and stacked in Nebulosity.  I did stretch the image in Nebulosity (saturation, color, contrast etc), but that's about it. Then I Used TGVdenoise and deconvolution in PixInsight.  Any recommendations would be appreciated.  Many thanks (The 1MB limit for picture upload has me a bit baffled as it forces me to use a highly compressed JPEG file.  AP images are more suited for TIFF or FITs and data can be lost (at least that's what PixInsight says when I save as a JPEG).  One point--guiding was very good (less than .2 pixel errors on x and y graphs.  The lines visible in the pic are artifacts of the nebulosity (either good ones (real) or bad (artificial), I don't know) created/revealed by the TGVdenoise/deconvolution process. 

post-48074-0-89401300-1450014330_thumb.j

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Rodd