Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Absolute beginner

Hi to all!

So I have my scope,star charts,a basic knowledge of stars and there names,but as a beginner what would the members suggest I look for first?

I have a skywatcher 127 goto,trying to acquire better lens,I have the lens that came with the scope,a 25mm wide angle and 10mm plus a 2xbarlow,could the members also suggest which lens to get with this scope on a limited budget.really want to get this one right as I read so many people give up because they can't find/see what they want.

Hello and welcome.

There's the moon at the moment, whose light is glaring out much of the deep sky objects. Look for the Messier objects in Auriga, Taurus and Gemini. It's probably best to appreciate them when the moon is down and it's properly dark. Good luck

Barry

Hello and welcome. I would stick with the eyepieces (lens) that you have for a while until you get more accustomed to finding your way around the sky. If you haven't yet downloaded Stellarium then do so as it will show you what is in the sky at the moment.

Peter

Early mornings eastwards will give you great views of Jupiter as well as Venus and Mars to a lesser degree. I've also just started with my first 'proper' scope (150p Dob) and am getting some great views of the easier Messiers (M45 & 42) as a start - when the clouds allow obvs!

Skymaps is great for a beginner as to what's on show each month:

http://www.skymaps.com/downloads.html

Clear skies!

Dazzyt

Skywatcher 150P

With a skywatcher 127 - which I as assuming is a Mak/SCT - then get a 32mm plossl, you will want a wide a field as sensible.

Later a 12mm, 15mm and say a 20mm.

All are +/- 2mm as you can never be sure what is available in the different makes.

What to look at can depend on the times you go observing.

Early evening you still have Cygnus around so try Albireo, you can try Lyra and the double double in there, you may manage M57 the Ring Nebula in Lyra.