NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Manual or GoTo

Manual or GoTo. Not an opinion on what is best as I have no experience but I can understand the camp of “manual, learn the sky”.

Years ago my cousin had a Kodak instamatic camera, those long in the tooth will remember it. Basically as film camera and just point, press button and wind on, that was it. I had a pair of canon slr`s, think they were A1`s and later A1 + T90 , that is how long ago it was!!

I also had a Bronco medium format camera which had changeable backs so, 35mm, 120mm and Polaroid. My cousin said to me he wanted to buy a top notch camera like my canon and ditch his automatic. Now he only basically used his instamatic once a year, on holiday. I wanted to show him it is not just a matter of setting camera to Auto and expect a good result. I set up the Bronica with Polaroid back and set camera on auto.

I got him to take a photo of me and the sun was behind me and facing the camera. Result I was almost pitch black and the sky was exposed perfectly. I said to him before he spends hundreds of £`s on a camera, 1st buy a cheap slr and learn about how light, focus, aperture etc effects the result of picture. Learn the basics and he will have a great base to work on when he upgrades. Realising it is not quite so easy he kept his Instamatic.

Long story but to me no different than astronomy, learn the constellations as much as you can. Orion for example may be at a certatain point in the sky at say 7pm but 6 hours later will have moved. This was my 1st lesson as I got used to looking at Orion at a certain time. I came out a lot later and was confused as to where it was.

I think you all know what I am getting at, manual or goto you do need that basic knowledge which can to be honest can be learnt with just your eyes even before you buy the scope. Let’s face it you will certainly need to pick out 2-3 starts to align (if goto or pushto) so why not get familiar with them before you start.