Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Astrophotography with a Nikon D3200

jACK101

Hello,

I have just tried to take a picture of a chimney pot via my new scope and with a Nikon D3200 in Live mode attached after taking of the diagonal and trying to focus via the scope.

Result zilch.

According to the camera manual, Live mode on the Nikon D3200 switches off when the lens is removed, and this certainly seems to be the case.

Is this in fact true?

I find it difficult to accept that it cannot deal with a relatively simple task like that.

Can anyone advise me.

I have a lot of experience in photography, but have never used live view before and I have no experience in Astronomy

Thanks for any advice.

Jack

Hi again,

I have got over the problem by simply treating the scope as a very large telephoto lens and I got some "Chimney Pots". I am not impressed with the quality, but I didn't spend a lot of time so far on focussing. I am glad just to get an image.

I will now try some planetary  and moon shots and see if I can improve the quality.

Thanks for your help

Jack

Dom,

It was during the day, I set the ISO manually to 100 where I normally keep it for most of my photography. It was just as I normally use a telephoto lens except much bigger.

Apart from ISO and shutter speed I guess it will also work this way at night. I found focussing  a bit imprecise, normally a telephoto lens snaps into focus, this was much more difficult so I see that as an area to concentrate on. Next stop the moon.

Jack

Happy cat,

I was trying to focus the telescope while looking at live view, but LV kept being switched off by the camera.  This time I focussed the telescope but looked through the viewfinder as I would normally do with a camera lens attached. I don't like LV anyway, so I am happier with this arrangement.

Jack