Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help Imaging with Skywatcher 200 PDS with synscan.

kroy

I am a complete novice in astro-photography and bough this scope after my research hoping to have a great view / image.

Visual using eye-pieces that came with the scope:

The scope is collimated and when I look I can get an OK - decent view of Saturn. When Orion Nebula was visibile then a haze of nebula with Astronomik UHC filter ON and may be decent view of Jupiter and its moon.

I am attaching a picture of Saturn and that is exactly how I saw from my telescope.

Photography using Canon unmoded 550D:

When I try to take a picture of a planet using a webcam - I see on my laptop that its never focused and hence the only picture I was able to take was of moon.

Orion nebula : I never trying taking a picture because I thought when I cannot see it clearly how can a color picture come out with great details - visually it was just like a small white haze in my scope with Astronomik UHC Filter on it .

When I see others posting brilliant photos from 130 pds and 200 pds I dont know what I am doing wrong and why the pics are not coming great.

Any guide/advice will be really helpful

Thanks

KRoy

post-40048-0-86309100-1439394639_thumb.j

great scope by the way and good saturn as well, but you don't mention what mount you have because if you are going to be into astrophotography then that is the most important piece of kit and it will need to be a decent mount for the 200 pds.

When you're using your web cam, you say it looks as if its never focused... it may seem that way, but if you're seeing a hint of the Cassini division, I'd say you're pretty much in focus... to get the sharp views you see in peoples images, you need to capture a video for a minute or two of Saturn, than stack about 300+ frames in something like Registax.. than use the wavelets in Registax to sharpen the detail.

Is the setup a 200PDS on the EQ5 mount?