Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I'm driving myself mad to distraction ....

Hi folks

Even though I've had my Orion ED80 over 10 years now, and I've used it more regularly in the last 12 months or so, I still feel a complete novice.  I upgraded my bog-standard Sirius plossls with a Pentax XW 10mm and a Maxvision 24mm, quality EPs that I will always be happy with I know.  Then I jumped on the BST ED bandwagon, good quality at a very bargain price, and got an 8mm and a 12mm .... I expected them to Barlow well too with my Orion Shorty-Plus.  I really think I should've gone for a TV 3-6 zoom ...  Instead I've done utterly mad and random things like buying Orion deepview 32mm and 6mm planetary EPs ....  And more recently I've been enticed by a wee family of orthos (Astro Hutechs, 6, 7, 9 and 18mm), AND Vixen SLVs (4, 5 and 12mm).  The 'logic' behind the orthos was that the more I read up on EPs preferences here on SGL the more I saw that a lot of people really swore by them and the true natural views that they provide ....  The Vixen 12mm SLV was an upgrade to my BST, and the 5 and 4mm were just 'Oh what the hell, why not?!  I have space for them in my EP case!' .....  I know that I have got quite a bit of quality glass but now I'm driving myself almost stark raving mad thinking, why didn't I just upgrade the plossls, like I did, and then get the Nagler zoom?!  On the positive side, I think I've got an eclectic set of EPs that I can put to good enough use on my ED80 ...  On the negative, I really doubt that I can ever justify getting the TV Nagler 3-6 zoom that I really think I should just've gone and gotten ... :mad:  ....  Yes, I can sell-off some of what I currently have, but should I?  By nature I am generally reluctant to sell what I buy, just in-case I do have reason to regret ....  I have one space in my case for a standard 1 1/4" EP ...  Do I get a 3-6mm zoom, or do I stay happy and content and sensible with what I've got?