Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

baader neodymium or uhc narrowband for SKYWATCHER mak 127

roberte76

Ive read that the baader neodymium is one of the most useful general filters for observing, as is a uhc narowband ,is this the case for boh with a

the skywatcher mak 127?

I live in the south of birmingham so i do suffer from part light polluted skies,though viewing away from the centre of the city is reasonable.

Will i see the difference with either when looking at gc's oc's planets moon and nebulae?

your comments as always will be read with great interest.....

thanks

rob ps i posted this in beginners section but got no response so im trying it here

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm only a beginner myself, but I got the baader neodymium and it does seem to make a difference. Again I suffer from light pollution and there's definately more contrast using the filter. It doesn't seem to darken what you are trying to see either, eg. I can see Bode's nebula just as brightly with it, but with better contrast than without.

Hm, I didn't spot your post in the Beginner's section, these old eyes must be playing up...

You're essentially talking about two different filters here. The Baader is a general light pollution filter, what it does is cut out most of the artifical light that plagues our skies. The UHC filter as you say is a narrowband filter and really only works on Nebulae, it's useless for anything starlight based ie: galaxies, clusters etc etc.

I have a Baader Neodymium and I'm not too impressed with it visually. Like everyone else, my skies are fairly polluted and TBH I'd rather go without the Neodymium and live with the light pollution as the filter cuts out too much of the faint detail for me. However, I found when doing afocal imaging it worked a treat and made a big difference!