NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Which imaging scope? ED80 or 130 pds?

Hi my friends,

I have read alot about the ED80 and 130pds.  Both have good write ups.  But is the (relatively cheap) 130 really as good as the much more expensive ED 80? - I understand that price is not ALWAYS a guide to quality...

Also if the Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro is better, what about the Skywatcher Esprit 80 ED PRO Triplet?

Cheers,

Mark

P.S.  Please, no abreviations.  I am an absolute beginner... :smiley: 

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi my friends,

I have read alot about the ED80 and 130pds.  Both have good write ups.  But is the (relatively cheap) 130 really as good as the much more expensive ED 80? - I understand that price is not ALWAYS a guide to quality...

Also if the Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro is better, what about the Skywatcher Esprit 80 ED PRO Triplet?

Cheers,

Mark

P.S.  Please, no abreviations.  I am an absolute beginner... :smiley: 

What is it you want to do? You seem to jump from a £160.00 scope to one costing nearly £900.00.

A.G

If you're completely new to telescopes then maybe the ED80 will be better as you don't have to worry about collimation. (Collimation just means making sure the optics are alligned correctly by tweaking some screws). You don't usually have to worry about this with refractors.

The 130pds is 'faster' than the ED80 (F5 vs F7.5). This just means you collect data about twice as fast with the 130pds. 

Reflectors like the 130pds are just cheaper than refractors inch for inch (reflectors are cheaper to make).

Refractors are easier for a beginner and they don't give diffraction spikes on images like a reflector does. Some people like spikes and some don't.

I'll leave someone else to talk about chromatic aberration which is why some people pick triplet apos over ED doublets as I'm trying to feed a baby with one hand and type with the other :D