Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

starlight express loadstar/superstar

higgins

I am looking to guide my sw ed80 on a neq6. I will probably go for the st80 as a guide scope.  As for the guide cam i was wondering what the

pros and cons between the superstar and loadstar x2 would be as they are closely priced.  Any advice greatly appreciated.

If you want to read some reviews on the Lodestar, google around.  But get the spelling right- you won't find the SX guide camera if you call it a 'Loadstar' :embarrassed:

I have an X2 and I'm very pleased with it.  I have no experience with the Superstar.  But the majority preference would seem to be for the Lodestar.  The X2 has an upgraded guide port which is much more robust than that in the version 1 and the Superstar.

The Superstar has smaller pixels, so higher resolution than the Lodestar.  That might make for more accurate guiding, but may also make it less sensitive.

Cheers,

Peter.

The Lodestar X2 is a marvellous guide camera- in a completely different league to others I have used. They can pull a guide star seemingly out of any situation (I recently used one to pick up the brightest (magnitude 20!) galaxies in the Hubble Deep Field challenge in just 180s).

A thought on the guide scope- I have recently moved away from separate guide scopes started using Off Axis Guiding (OAG). You could buy an OAG assembly from E-bay for less than half the price of an ST80.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Brand-NEW-High-Quality-Off-Axis-Guider-with-Extra-Extension-Tubes-RRP-239-50P-/371316831988?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item56743536f4

The trick with getting one of these OAG's cheap is to bid about £45. Even if you are outbid the seller 'Joy' always gives you a second chance offer at your bid price (I got two of these this way- even though 'winners' paid well over £50!).