NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

M101 and RGB imaging

Robp

Afternoon all,

This is my first attempt at putting together an RGB image and I'm after some advice on imaging M101 (and RGB in general).

So far I have gathered the following data of M101:
Ha 20 x 900 (5 hours total exposure)
RGB 24 x 300 (2 hours each filter at 1x1)

This was collected on a 130pds with an Atik 314L+

With some clear skies forecast for tonight and possibly tomorrow I need to decide what data to add to the above.

1. Would I be best off increasing the amount of RGB data or just start adding Luminance into the mix? I read somewhere that Luminance data can wash out the colour?
  2. If I was to add Luminance data to this set, would it be best to match the exposure times of the RGB as a starting point?
  3. Does anyone use a light pollution filter with LRGB exposures? I suffer from moderate light pollution and have a skywatcher LPF from when I used to image with my DSLR that I could use.
  4. What amount of Ha data should I be aiming for? Is there some guidelines on what ratios to work to on Ha,L and RGB?
  5. Is there a point where quantity of data no longer improves an image and its all about the quality instead?

I'm quite patient so don't mind building an image over the course of many nights (in case its relevant to the questions).

Thanks in advance!

Rob

Hi Kalasinman,

I haven't had time to process the data yet apart from a quick stack and stretch to see what it looks like. I collected the RGB data last night so need to do some flats this evening.

With a clear night forecast tonight the processing will have to wait until its cloudy :smiley:

Thought of another question as well, is it worth pushing the RGB exposure times higher and is there a way of telling if you are exposing to long due to lightpollution?

I used to see an orange gradient and saturation when imaging with my DSLR but don't see that in my individual RGB stacks.