Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

8 months in - tutorial from my experience so far

Hi everyone,

Around 8 months ago I finally got the money together for a mount (EQ5 Pro) and so started my astrophotography journey.  Back then with lots to learn I promised myself that once I was producing some basic reasonable images I would write a step by step tutorial for others to read.  I've learnt everything from this forum, youtube searches, the friendly guys at Opticstar, and the odd book.  I know I am still a beginner, but I would have valued another tutorial back in May last year fresh from a beginners perspective, so i've taken a couple of hours to write this in case it helps anyone.  I know i've missed out lots of detail, but hopefully it will help speed someone along the way.

http://ambientgeneration.com/2015/01/19/getting-started-in-astrophotography-tutorial/

Thanks for all your help whilst i've been lurking taking advantage of so much of everyone's expertise,

Matthew.

Interesting to read someone else's experience. I'm 4 months in to my AP obsession and I'm currently at stage 6 although I've skipped stage 5. I've gone down the converted webcam route as an alternative to stage 5 although I haven't had a chance to try it yet.

Nice post! I am about 4 months in and at approx the same stage. Just upto getting Narrowband filters. You are however WAY ahead of me with the quality of the pictures you are generating!

I see you are in Stockport, did you manage to find a decent Astro club around here? The closest one I have found is Bolton.

Great post Matt, thanks for sharing. I'm probably somewhere in the middle of all that and looking to upgrade my mount in the Autumn if I can figure out my processing. I think I need to brush up my skills on StarTools as I have been using DSS and GIMP but probably doing to much in DSS....it seems fine for a quick fix, but perhaps less subtle than StarTools. Probably time to splash out on a license.