Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Deep sky imaging from scratch??

Hi

I have recently just joined stargazers lounge, equipped wiht my Canon 60d and various lenses,

I am really interested in capturing some of these stunning deep space images of star clusters and nebula,

So i have a few questions,

Obviously i need someway of tracking the object using the long exposures,

Best telescope for using on deep sky images to connect my Canon 60d,

also i am aware of the deep sky stacker,

I am a complete beginner when it comes to any star gazing , i have just been looking at the moon through my 300mm canon lense on the tripod,

So really im after any advice, if there is anyone local to me would be great, if possible to meet up for a chat etc?

Cheers in advance

Craig

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Craig I'm in Harrogate but there is a society nearer to you (Wakefield).  They have a section on here so if you look under Social Groups forum at Yorkshire Astronomers you will find them.  if you are a beginner it is very important to approach those more experienced if you want to image and you need very deep pockets.

Right. The very first thing to buy is "Making Every Photon count" by Steve Richards, steppenwolf of this forum, available from FLO.

Read it twice, think long and hard then read it again.

While you are doing that ask plenty of questions here, and consult your Bank Manager regarding overdrafts.

Humph...Zakalwe and Chris posted while I was taking a call from the stupid social services about mum who died near 2 years ago :mad:

Hi Craig I'm in Harrogate but there is a society nearer to you (Wakefield).  They have a section on here so if you look under Social Groups forum at Yorkshire Astronomers you will find them.  if you are a beginner it is very important to approach those more experienced if you want to image and you need very deep pockets.