Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Canon EOS 12V adaptor?

Hi All

I have been looking around for a power adaptor for my EOS1000D ... so I can connect to a 12v cigarette lighter type socket.

Do they exist?

I have seen mains powered adaptors, but don't fancy that outside in the dew!

Thanks

Wrap it in a polly bag thats what I do, works fine

I'm far from an electronics expert, but I built my own, following these instructions:

http://www.deepskywatch.com/Articles/Canon-dslr-power-supply.html

It looks as good as anything I've seen commercially available, and very cheap!

That is a great article. Thanks for the link.

I already have a mains adaptor and dummy battery, so will have a go at making the DC version described.

Some of the very cheap mains adaptors you get on ebay are very dodgy ... I had one explode and trip the electric in the house..

Fortunately the camera survived...  I should have known better but I only wanted it for the dummy battery...

Peter...

I bought one for an external monitor and it literally exploded after a few hours use. Glad it didn't burn the house down. I now buy second-hand "named" mains adapters of the correct rating and modify the low-voltage end for connecting (as I'm phenomenally tight :smiley:)

Hey Kropster, my fault... i didnt see them on amazon  but here, they have like 20 versions :

http://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/advanced_search_result.php/language/en/keywords/canon%20eos%2012v%20adapter/suchdas/OK

Astonoshingly, they sell them between 29 and 79 euros!

I guess this one would be the cheapest for your unit, but compare them with your battery- are you using a DRE8?

http://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p7136_12V-external-power-supply-for-your-Canon-EOS-550D--600D--650D----.html

Astonoshingly, they sell them between 29 and 79 euros!

I guess this one would be the cheapest for your unit, but compare them with your battery- are you using a DRE8?