NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

SC Owners

Anyone with an LX 200 or 90 and Celestron SC's. I have come to the conclusion that my secondary seems to have a yellowish colour caste without being what I would call dirty. It has a few bit of small dirt here and there as does the main mirror but no way would anyone call them dirty.

I am guessing but I think to clean this I have to remove the front cell and may as well do all of them while it's open, open scope surgery so to speak.

Any tips would be welcome as I have never done this before, what to clean them with or should I just leave it?

Alan

Zak,

No it is not fastar so it is off with the front part.

Yong,

Tim talks about Baader fluid and is cleaning the corrector plate which I will do as well but what do I clean a secondary with, I think you use a type of alcohol mixed with a little water. I have a load of micro fiber cloths are these any good for this work or should I use cotton wool?

Please bear in mind where I am, things are not that easy to get, alcohol is plentiful but the drinking type.

Alan

I am beginning to think this is a leave alone for moment, however i would really like to hear from any members that have this or have heard of this yellowing that seems to have occured to the secondary.

It is not as if the scope has been either over used or kept in the damp or something like that, I have only really noticed it in the last six weeks or so. I just can't imagine what is happening as there is no sign what so ever of any other damage to any mirror edge and the scope is always covered in the horizonal plain. If I didn't kow better it could almost be said that it was from heavy smoking near to the surface of the mirror, I don't smoke.

Alan

Digger sorry I didn't see you reply.