Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Lodestar Live compared to video

RobertI

Hi all,

I am just starting out in this forum and learning about video electronically assisted observing. I have been using my lodestar (originally purchased for long exposure imaging) and lodestar Live to capture some really nice images real-time at the scope. With the coming addition of stacking in LodestarLive it seems we have something akin to video imaging? Being completely ignorant about astronomy video cameras like the Mallincam I don't really understand the advantages and disadvantages of either setup.

What are the fundamental differences between this lodestar live setup and Video Cameras like the Mallincam?

Rob

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi all,

I am just starting out in this forum and learning about video electronically assisted observing

I meant "electronically assisted observing" not "video electronically assisted observing"........

I wouldn't worry about the naming :)

The loadstar + LL is basically a sensitive sensor and then taking images and aligning them automatically to stack.

millicam is performing higher gain and then analogue output - it's possible that the image is stacked in the analogue domain.

The technology differs but essentially there are a few points:

a) The most sensitive sensor is used

B) High gain is used to make low voltages from the CCD higher output - basically a brighter image - the trick here is to limit the noise being added

c) near realtime image processing is done to display the images as they're being build..

d) fast, or large scopes are used to push as many photons onto the sensor as possible during the exposure time

In the end most people use electronics to see more than they would with the naked eye through an eyepiece, or do so to cope with not being able to physically bend to view with an eyepiece.

Hi all,