Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

my last goal for 2014.....image a comet....

Just wondering what bright'ish comets are around at the moment to image, i got 1 out of 5 goals left for this year and that is to image a comet, any pointers on comets would be great, along with any data capture tips would be excellent, i am a complete noob to comets, never seen one or imaged one, seen plenty of pics of them not quite sure if they would need to be single subs or several tens/hundreds of pics stacked, would you need to be guiding to get better results. just like to be prepared as much as i can...

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thats great mike! what exposure was your image above? and was it a single exposure?

im guessing that you want one long (10-20min guided sub) as i cant see how it would work with say 100 x 20min subs as the comet is moving so fast right so it will be trailing from sub to sub...?

i have been searching google for imaging a comet with a telescope, but all im getting is hubble websites etc,etc, does any one know of a good guide or tutorial to image a comet? cant really find a lot of info on the subject at all :( 

any pointers at all would be great...

6 subs were 300secs at iso 800.

I noticed even with 300secs the comet had moved on each.

Notice the slightly elongated head.

I gather you can guide on the comet but the stars trail?

There is a bit in the DSS help about comets.

No expert on this, I just wanted a comet like yourself. :grin:

6 subs were 300secs at iso 800.

I noticed even with 300secs the comet had moved on each.

I gather you can guide on the comet but the stars trail?

No expert on this, I just wanted a comet like yourself. :grin:

Thanks for that info buddy :)

its defo going to be my hardest challenge to date.............well no guiding has been my biggest challenge, dont think anything can top that....lol