NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Viewing the sun

Hi all,

I am a newbie, i have a 6SE with a solar filter that goes over the front of the telescope, the other day i tried it out with a 25mm eyepiece but i could not focus in on the sun as the sun filled the whole view through the eyepiece, can anyone give me some tips on how to view the sun better, i also have a 9mm eyepiece, i am thinking of buying a eyepiece kit made by celestron which give you a selection of eyepieces and filters has anyone got any thoughts on this kit good or bad.

Many thanks

Important question:

What type of solar filter do you have?.

When observing the sun, you really dont need to be using a 25mm eyepiece. Something about 8-9mm will do (the Sun in the sky is the same size as a full Moon). But 30-32mm will give you a view of the whole disc...............

A good tip of learning how to focus on the Sun, is to just focus on the edge of it. Once that is sharp, you will be good to go. 

Unless the atmosphere is it's usual turbulent self that is , a lot of the time the very edge of the disc has the appearance of a circular saw blade and is nigh on impossible to focus on ... :smiley:

Better to pick a small but distinct sunspot to get focus , you will find that you will have to be patient and monitor the spot for a while once you think that focus is right.

The seeing on a warm day can play havoc with the view so if the detail doesn't pop out after a little while then gently tweak the focus and repeat , when that moment of still air appears all will be revealed in it's full glory and then it's just a matter of keep watching and enjoying those moments of clarity.

Mid morning is usually the best time to observe/image I have found , the Sun has had time to climb above the thickest part of the hazy atmosphere but not long enough to heat up all the surfaces/roofs etc that causes warm air to rise and ruin the view.