Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M42

Hi all.

As a beginner I have just been out looking for M42 and was wondering if I have found it.

The view I had with my Dob 200p was of 4 or 5 small stars in a almost small circular shape, also it looked like a misty haze in the fov.

So question is did I find it or was that something else?

Thanks for any answers that may come.

The green tint is very subtle and some folks eyes can't make it out. It sounds to me like might have been using quite a lot of magnification (just a guess !). To see M42 in it's full glory you want a low to medium magnification. The stars in the circular shape are probably the trapezium stars (4 bright ones of these). They lie in the center of a much larger spread of nebulosity which sort of sprawls out at around 50x - 70x.

Sounds like it a good OIII filter makes it pop I used with and with out last night and it still puts a smile on my face the 4 theta 1 stars looked amazing love power as said is best I concur it was greenish last night with out the filter be aware in small scopes the OIII filter kills the view

Pat

The green tint is very subtle and some folks eyes can't make it out. It sounds to me like might have been using quite a lot of magnification (just a guess !). To see M42 in it's full glory you want a low to medium magnification. The stars in the circular shape are probably the trapezium stars (4 bright ones of these). They lie in the center of a much larger spread of nebulosity which sort of sprawls out at around 50x - 70x.

I'll try a lower mag EP next chance it's clear then. Also is a filter any good and if so what colour?