NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Too much choice, come help me navigate please

Hi all,

Beginner here. Am going to join local astronomy club but right now know [removed word] all. I'd like to buy a telescope, these are my requirements/preferences (that I know of) can you guys please help?

Budget up to £1500

Just want to observe, no photography

Urban Essex, light pollution a problem

200ft garden and fairly big view of sky

Would like something which gives great views, planets, stars etc- great optics important.

Don't want to need to upgrade within next 5 years

Portability and size important, need to pack it in car and set up on my own, store indoors.

Not sure whether I want/need goto features.

If I've forgotten something please remind me.

Thanks for your help.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

For portability and features, you wouldn't do much better than this for visual only http://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-250px-flextube-goto.html  You don't have to have the goto version, though personally I do find tracking to be important, especially for planetary work.

That leaves you enough money to buy some decent eyepieces.

http://www.orionoptics.co.uk/VX/vx10-10l.html

Hi welcome to SGL. I had similar requirements and went for an orion optics 10" dob and fitted a nexus push to system to locate stuff. It's been great.

It's a lot to spend if you're not really sure what commitment you'll have to the hobby so a cheaper make or second hand might be the way to go until you know. I definitely think a dob is the way to go.

With that budget I'd probably get an Orion Optics 10'' Newtonian on a Dobsonian mount (maybe secondhand as it'll be a lot cheaper)

Something like this: http://www.orionoptics.co.uk/VX/vx10-10l.html

With the rest I'd get a coma corrector, which you'll probably need with a focal ratio of f4.8, something like a Paracorr Type II (again maybe secondhand as they cost about £400!!)