NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Dobsonian for a Beginner

Hi all, spent some time last year researching this and got as far as deciding on a dobsonian as I am more interested in deep space than planetary observations.

I was going to go up to 1k but after getting busy with house renovations last year rather than actually getting a scope I am now at the point of buying one this year. I am interested in all aspects of observing and have never owned a scope before, all I have used is my basic bins which you can just about make out the moons of Jupiter with.

So my question is, as a complete novice, with no idea of scope maintenance or adjustment or setup etc, and being Rubbish at constructing anything / building anything myself - can I just go out and spend circa £400 on a decent dobsonian which will ne easy to setup (does it even require setup out the box?) and need little or basic maintenance?

I have read on here in the past about people changing the eyepieces and cleaning the refractors etc - I would have no idea how to do this unless it is a simple task.

Cheers

Hi, any scope you buy will have a certain amount of assembly needed but nothing too demanding  :smiley: The scopes you linked to aren't strictly Dob's although they use the same optics, a Newtonian reflector. This is a dobsonian -   http://www.philburtonphotography.co.uk/?shop=shopitems/sky.watcher.skyliner.150p.sky1016.aspx

The idea behind the Dob is to spend most of the money on the optics and have a basic, point and shoot, mount. Viewing deep space objects is usually considered easier with a bigger scope than the 5" you linked to, you would be better going for an 8" scope for this.  If you buy a Newtonian type scope you will need to find out about aligning the optics and basic maintenance, you cannot clean the mirrors like you would a binocular lens for example. Having said that anybody who takes on House renovations should probably manage just fine :smiley: