Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice on buying a first telescope, please help...

Hi. I posted this on a different forum- 

Hi

I was just wondering if anyone could give me some advice? 

I was considering buying my Dad a telescope for Christmas (complete beginner), ideal budget £150(ish). I have been trying to read about different types & reviews. There are just so many! I did try searching for this topic first and saw someone had posted this -Skyhawk 1145PM Motorised Newtonian telescope starter kit £149 from pulsar-optical. Looks impressive to me, but then I dont really understand most of the description!I think my question is that a lot of reviews ets talk about being able to see the moon clearly and Saturn, its moons and rings, but then say you can only really see constellation groups of stars other than that? Would you be able to see other stars in detail as well? Basically my Dad is a total beginner but I would like to get the best possible for my budget & is there anything worth getting for my £150 budget?

thank you for any advice you might be able to give! 

Someone kindly replied and suggested this one - http://www.wexphotographic.com/buy-sky- ... e/p1524184 - sky watcher heritage - 130P flextube dobsonian telescope...

As my knowledge is limited I just wanted a second opinion before I spend the money. The reviews I have been reading are quite good and just wanted to see if someone can confirm them?

I know the reviews for seeing the moon etc are good but can you see stars/constellations with this one?

Thank you for any help :)