Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Polar Aligning

Kidbriar

Hello everyone.  I've joined your forum because I think it is the best out there for information and help!   :laugh:

I'm new to astronomy and have bought a Celestron Astromaster 130EQ which I've had now for 2 weeks; I've only used it a couple of times because there haven't been many clear nights!  I've read about polar aligning my scope and I think I get the basics on why, but I have a question that please bear with me if it seems stupid or simple! 

:confused:   Okay, so my scope is polar aligned, the mount shows the altitude at 51 and I'm looking at Polaris and using the RA slow motion cable I understand I can track stars as the earth rotates, but what do I do if I want to look at a constellation that is east, west or south?  This sounds like a dumb question even to me, but if my scope is aligned and looking towards Polaris which has a dec of 90 degrees and I want to view, say, Orion which according to my planisphere is  about 5 degrees, what do I do???  Surely I don't keep my scope and tripod pointing at Polaris do I?  See, I told you it was a dumb question! :embarassed:  Do I have to adjust my altitude on the mount or just the dec wheel and RA wheel and turn my scope round to to the east?

I'm so sorry for this stupid question, but I think I've over googled this topic and am confused, but as I say, I'm really knew to astronomy and all I can find is the necessity for polar aligning my scope!   :confused:  

Any help would be greatly appreciated!     :embarrassed:  

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi there

assuming you have an eq mount, you polar align mount & scope with polaris as best you can, once you think your about PA'ed,  you can release the clutches an move the scope to wherever you want to look then re-tighten an then use the slow motion control knobs to move the scope manually to follow the object of interest. 

couple of links attached that may help