Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help me choose a CCD

seanpius

Hi all,

I want to start ccd imaging and was wondering if anyone could advise me on which would be the best camera to pair with my explore scientific 127 and 0.7x reducer/corrector,i want to do DSO,i have around £2000-£2500 to spend.

Sean

Sean, I suspect you'll have lots of options with that budget... although, as I've no experience with CCD's, I can't really help you out.

I've split your post out to it's own thread, that way it'll get more visibility.

Tim, sorry, I feel as if I'm butting in but here goes.

Some of the things to consider are;

Mono or colour? Mono is a little faster (which may be counter intuitive) but can be frustrating if you don't finish a set.

Mono allows efficient use of narrowband which cuts through LP and enhances colour images. Ha can be had in some level of moonlight.

You need filters for mono and a wheel, though manual ones are OK.

Chip size. Use a planetarium software to model chip size and focal length on the sky so you can see what will fit on each chip.

Sony or Kodak? Sony are way quieter but Kodak are bigger/cheaper. Kodak noise does calibrate out with darks and bias.

Pixel size should give you a pixel scale appropriate to your seeing. Opinion varies but a sweet spot might be 2 arcsecs per pixel. Here's a calculator. http://www.12dstring.me.uk/fov.htm

I have found Atik to be very reliable and one or two other makes to be less so, or even considerably less so. In commercial use the Atiks I've had have been consistently excellent.

Olly

I'd have thought an Atik 460ex would be a good choice, giving you 1.4 arcsec/pixel and a FOV of 51.4 x 64.3 arcmins with your reducer. That would just about give you the whole of the Orion nebula in the frame.