NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

LP or UHC Filter?

Hi guys, I'm a beginner whose recently purchased a Celestron Nexstar 8SE for viewing DSO. However due to the light pollution here in Manchester I'm struggling to see anything above a light blur and cannot make out M13 at all and therefore I was thinking of purchasing a Light Pollution or UHC filter.

Would I need to buy both or will the UHC also reduce a lot of street light etc?

Also, looking at prices on Amazon UHC filter seem to start around £40 then go up with some of the filters around £70 advising they are for a larger apertures. Is the Nexstar 8SE considered a larger or medium aperture scope?

Thanks in advance and clear skies people!

Ste

Hi

Be advised, the UHC will improve the views emission nebulae only. It won't help your views of M13 and other globs.

Stars emit light right accross the spectrum so are filtered out by narrow band filters like the UHC. This is why filters cannot help with star clusters and Galaxies. Travelling to darker skies is the only way to gain better views of them.

Bought this for LP.....expensive, hoping it's as good as advertised.

http://www.firstligh...ion-filter.html

This filter it seems is for photography, it will be interesting to see if it performs for visual use as well? The best 'all-round' multi purpose LP filter is I believe the Baader Neodymium filter: http://www.firstlightoptics.com/light-pollution-reduction/baader-neodymium-filter.html

UHC and OIII filters are for bringing out nebs and do not help with globular clusters.

Hello Ste, when you say you can't see M13 at all do you mean it is very faint or there is literally nothing there?

If there is nothing there, are you sure that the scope is properly aligned/focussed/set up? M13 is a fairly bright DSO - I observe from a light polluted site (though probably not as bad as Manchester) and M13 is pretty easy to spot with my 200p.