Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Colimation nightmare

I need help please....I'm still a newbie, and have had unsatisfactory focus issues since I started with my setup - (SW 200 P DS on EQ5(goto). I'm using the stock 28mm and a BST 8mm, and can never seem to acheive crisp focus.

I have a chesire colimator, and have followed astrobaby's and astroshed's instructions, and thought I had it lined up right, but obviously not.

I read somewhere that a de-focused star should look like a donut through a correctly colimated scope, but mine don't.....I took a photo of what I get and have pasted it below (please ignore the movement - 8 second exposure with no tracking), the shape is obviously not donut shaped......

IMG_9719.jpg

So is it colimation that's the problem? or is there something else wrong with my setup.

How do I correct it?

Any ideas would be very much appreciated!!!!!

Anyone in the Exmoor area fancy a pint / coffee / tea / cake one weekend to teach me the laws of colimation, please PM!!!

Thanks

Rob

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have a 200PDS on EQ5.

This is what I see down the focusser tube when my scope is collimated. Second photo is down the Cheshire.

post-33058-13387774176_thumb.jpgpost-33058-133877741765_thumb.jpg

Hope these are helpful. I don't usually do a star test, but I suppose I ought to really.

First of all. What do you mean by "unsatisfactory focus". What are you expecting to see that you aren't getting? Are you sure it's not just bad seeing (atmospheric turbulence) that you're experiencing?