NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Solar newbie :-) seeks tips for focussing a PST with DMK21AU616 _

Well, whilst I'm not new to imaging as such I'm new to Solar so would appreciate some tips here to save me wasting time. I've just taken delivery of a nice DMK21AU6 Mono to go with my PST.

Now my first attempts between those pesky clouds yesterday to focus were a nightmare.. the suns too bright.. how do you find anything to focus on! I know the focal point is close on the PST so I've tried with and without the top half of the eyepiece holder attached. However all I'm seeing is a white disc blury edge & no detail.. is that right? Whats the solar equivalent of a Bahtinov?.. boy we're so lucky in the DSO camp!

Any help on the setting for IC Capture would be welcome too.. I tried to turn down things but it's not really made any difference.

The problem is with the very limited testing time.. had 10 mins yesterday to catch the Sun between snow showers, there's nothing else you can test it out on is there?

Oh I should add.. I managed to focus enough to determine (blurry) sunspots with my SPC900 (with 1.25 nosepiece) last weekend with the top of the eyepiece holder removed so I know it can be done.. the DMK nosepiece & chip distance looks similar? I haven't measured it yet though.. I've a shorter one on it's way without the flange at the top.

The backfocus of the DMK cameras is 17.5mm - probably a bit more than the webcams...a barlow lens fitted to the end of the shoulderless nosepiece may help.

""" I've tried with and without the top half of the eyepiece holder attached""" Does this mean you separated the eyepiece holder and removed the section closest to the black box? This contains a "mini-erf" to reduce the energy loading on the final blocking filter (closest to the eyepiece)

Focus comes with practise...plenty of practise!

Get the solar edge in as good a focus as you can, readjust the tuning to get some surface detail and go from there....