NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What Project Can I Do To Convince My School To Gift Me £200 Towards An AP Set? Urgent!

Hi People, the title is really only a very simple way of putting it... So let me rephrase. I'm in my final year of high school and for the past month have been devising a list to start AP, I've got everything sorted out.. My school has a 'bidding scheme' where you ask for an item to do with your interest and create something to prove your serious about it and the item is bought for you. Now i've been saving for a while, the total price of everything I need is £1,111.90 I will be bidding for two £100 First light optics vouchers. There is a large form to fill and a large section is dedicated to a project you create to show your passion. I don't really have any Idea what to do, and was wondering if you guys have any Ideas?

Thanks - Alex :icon_scratch:

How about something relating to tracking Comet Ison as it develops during the year ?. This one could be big news late in the year:

http://science.nasa....8jan_cometison/

It might catch non-astronomers imagination too :smiley:

I think that is a really good idea.

I would add to the above by suggesting writing a blog about it, submitting articles/images to a local newspaper (even a school newspaper), etc. Anything that is more than just "I want to do this project" and more a "I want to give something to people" kinda thing...? :)

I would add to the above by suggesting writing a blog about it, submitting articles/images to a local newspaper (even a school newspaper), etc. Anything that is more than just "I want to do this project" and more a "I want to give something to people" kinda thing...? :)

I agree - you should include your desire to use this project to popularise astronomy, stimulate thinking, that sort of thing. I believe that they want more science students generally and this could be a way to attract some folks into the field !