Feedback & help

Hi

Let me start by saying I am an absolute noob at this so I was looking to find out if anyone can help I have only looked through the telescope that I got for Christmas so I have nothing to compare this with so I was wondering if you could let me know if what I have is any gd. I think what I have seen so far has been great but as I say I have nothing to compare with:-

Ideal for terrestrial and astronomical use, the powerful Celestron Powerseeker 1000 has an optimum magnification of 277x and a potential for 833x; this high-spec reflector telescope lets you view the solar system like never before. Featuring high transmission optical coatings for enhanced image clarity and slow-motion controls for smooth tracking.Optimum magnification 277x.Maximum magnification 833x.Full height tripod.German Equatorial Mount.Aluminium optical coatings.with a Newtonian Reflector optical design. Fully coated glass optical components with high transmission coatings for enhanced image brightness and clarity and slow motion controls for smooth tracking.3x Barlow lens triples the magnifying power of each eyepiece.Includes three 1.25 eyepieces: 3.6mm, 12mm, 20mm plus moon filter.Aperture: 127mm, Focal Length: 1000mm.Weight 7.7kg.Size H83.8, W43.2cm

Also, what can I expect to see through this? I have already seen the moon & Jupiter.

Thanks for any help at all

post-28845-0-10450200-1360096467_thumb.j

Hello and welcome :)

I hope you're enjoying your telescope! The only thing I want to mention is the quoted maximum magnification. I always thought the general rule of thumb for maximum magnification was 50x per inch of aperture (someone correct me if I'm wrong). So your 5 inch scope would give a maximum useful magnification of around 250x. Although this relies on perfect weather. You may be able to magnify more but 833x does not sound right.