Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Beginner - What equipment and where to start?

http://www.pulsar-optical.co.uk/prod/skywatcher/telescopes/heritage-76.html

Hi. Total beginner here. I have just ordered a skywatcher heritage 76 mini dobsonian for my 6 year old and also interested myself.

Im wondering if there is any other essential equipment I need to start with. It come with 10mm and 25mm eyes pieces.

Also is there a guide of what to look for at first for beginners.

Thanks. Any other help appreciated

Welcome to SGL.

What is your budget?

First I'd get a good guide book, such as Turn Left at Orion, a red torch and a planisphere

http://www.amazon.co...e/dp/0521153972

http://www.amazon.co...B34EH64N3SR4T4E

Then download Stellarium to your pc for a interactive program

http://www.stellarium.org/

These should get you started in learning what is what in the night sky and what there is to see.

Stellarium, red light torch, planisphere and there are lots of books out there which can help. The Philips 'Guide to Stars and Planets' , 'Stargazing with Binoculars' and 'Stargazing with a Telescope' are excellent.

welcome to s.g.l . id concur with the others, "turn left at orion" is a great book for finding a range of objects and stellarium is a "FREE" download.

theres alot to see up there. the moon and the big gas giants are always a good start point .

good luck and happy hunting.

"Im wondering if there is any other essential equipment I need to start with"

Hi and welcome to SGL :)

To answer your question - there are as many Telescope Accessories as there are stars in all the Universe - it's never ending - and the sharp outflow of cash is a gazillion times worse than the floods in Cornwall lol.