NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Newbie to telescopes

Hi,

Looking for lots of advice for the following,

Going to purchase a telescope, max £500 - I am looking for the best possible one for a newbie like myself.

Will need tripod with it and it will be set up for garden use.

Best possible magnification etc?

I wish to gaze at the Moon, Saturn , Mars etc - also would like to be able to attach my DSLR Canon camera to take pictures from the telescope.

Complete novice!

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi. The Skywatcher 200 Newtonian is a fantastic scope and would do all that you need and more, but for photos you would need synscan motorised mount and that does push the budget up. There are smaller scopes available with goto already as a package, and being of 150 to 130 size would be easier for transportation if you so desire. :smiley:

Hi. The Skywatcher 200 Newtonian is a fantastic scope and would do all that you need and more, but for photos you would need synscan motorised mount and that does push the budget up. There are smaller scopes available with goto already as a package, and being of 150 to 130 size would be easier for transportation if you so desire. :smiley:

Skywatcher Explorer 200P on EQ5 would be the obvious choice for that budget and requirements. The basic setup is £415 from First Light Optics and you could add the dual axis drives to make it £500. That would be sufficient to get you started with the imaging using the Canon. And the 200P can do all types of visual astronomy very well. You'll need a few extras that will bump the price though, such a simple collimation device, a red light, star map (Turn Left at Orion is brill). But all those will only add an extra £50.

The supplied eyepieces and barlow are plenty fine to get you started. Plus there are some really good value eyepiece options available now when you are ready to expand the set.