Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Best sights with a 4.5" reflector?

I'm new to the hobby and have had some really nice views of the moon and Saturn through my 4.5" reflector, according to Stellarium I would have to be up at around 2-4am to see Jupiter at the moment.

Does anyone have any advice on what DSOs to search for while I wait for a view of Jupiter, something I could see through my scope? Providing the great British weather clears up :)

Does anyone have any advice on what DSOs to search for while I wait for a view of Jupiter, something I could see through my scope? Providing the great British weather clears up :)

You can do a lot of great astronomy with a 4.5" reflector. For DSOs, the Messier list is a good start and will keep you busy, here's a link -

http://www.naasbeginners.co.uk/MESSIER.htm

Regards, Ed.

The great globular cluster M13 in Hercules is a good object for this time of year.

And its nearby neighbour M92, another nice globular cluster that is an easy target for a 4.5".

The Ring Nebula in Lyra is very easy to find and your 4.5 will have no problem showing it nicely. Once there its worth moving across to Cygnusand the double star Albireo (arguably the best in the sky). And then move onto another planetary nebula, M27 in Vulpecula.

Should be great in the 4.5.

Pretty much all of the Messier objects should be yours for the taking, though some are harder than others. If you have a clear southern horizon there are more galaxies and clusters than you can shake a hairy stick at in Virgo and around Sagittarius and Scutum, though Virgo is probably getting past its best for this year. It's hard to point a wide-field scope south and not find something of interest at the moment. If the cloud ever lifts, at any rate.

James

And its nearby neighbour M92, another nice globular cluster that is an easy target for a 4.5".