Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Japanese Kellners

barbusg60

As a beginner I've been buying a few cheap eyepieces to try before I settle on the ones I keep.

I really like my Circle T 12.5mm Orthoscopic and have just won an auction on Ebay for a couple of Japanese Kellners' in 25mm & 18mm.

I was just wondering if anyone has any idea of what they will be like?

Hopefully better than the standard ones that came with my 130p which I have not bothered using.

I assume they wont be as good as the Ortho's but it would be interesting to know.

Thanks in advance,

Rob.

I only want the 18mm and 25mm from the set and planned on selling the other two on when they arrive.

i don't have enough posts to advertise them but you could put a wanted ad up if you want the 40mm?

thanks for the replys,

Rob.

I don't think the Kellner design will work too well with a fast newtonian such as the 130P Flextube. Kellners are OK in slow refractors but not a patch on orthoscopics, in my view, despite coming from the same manufacturer. The Circle-T Kellners were some of the 1st eyepieces I had and seemed OK for a while until I tried a good plossl which seemed sharper and offered a larger field of view.

By all means try them though as they can be bought for very little.

Try a wanted advert in the UK Astro Buy & Sell website until you have enough posts to put one on the SGL classifieds.

I had a 25mm japan kellner NS of fullerscopes vintage - must have been in the box for 20 years!. I was surprised when i tried in with my 4" ED on the moon, it was 'lovely' every bit a match for a top notch plossl but with slightly less field. They transmit light very well being a simply design. I'm sure you will be satisfied.

andrew

I remember getting a Kellner from Dudley Fuller to go with my first scope a 3 inch refractor from Dixons, I thought it was the biggest telescope in the world. When I compaired it to what came with the scope it was like it had grown an extra inch.