NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Just how large is a Skywatcher 200p Dob? It's this or a Celestron 127 GOTO!

Well it's now telescope decision time! I've narrowed it down to the two mentioned above after numerous e-mails to FLO (thanks again Martin!).

I think I'm veering towards the Dob but the one problem I have with it is the size. We don't have a lot of space at home so storage could be a problem. Exactly how large is the scope and does it need to be kept in a specific environment?

At the moment my heart says Dob but my head (and my wife) say Celestron 127 GOTO.

Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated!

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

im a novice myself but have the 200p and its fantastic, id love goto functionality but its a bit too expensive for me, both your choices are good but id deffo err on the side of the dob, simply for the mirror size and bigger better views of things, we get scopes to look at stuff afterall.

As for size, im staring at mine now and trying to think of an easy way to describe the size so here goes..... Think of your average armchairs cushion, the dob base would take up about that space on your floor and the whole unit stands up to just below my chest height (im 5"11 ish)

as long as you have a wee den type room to leave it in the scope wouldnt be too badly in the way.

bit of a silly way to describe the size but i hope you get my drift!! I also have a 127mm AZ tripod mounted scope and it actually takes up more space unless you demount the tube and fold up the mount ( which gets to be a chore to do )

Have fun

Jeff

as already said the its appox 55" high and the base is 52cm dia, but bare in mind the celestron 127 scope is small but the tripod with legs extended is a lot more than 52cm and a 8" dob will give far better light grasp ,its a dob for me...