NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

NEQ6: Play on the DEC axis?

I just bought a new NEQ6, noticed some play, about plus/minus 1 degree on the DEC axis, a lot less on the RA axis. I was testing my guide camera and noticed the image would jump up and down if I touched the scope, thought it was the focuser or camera not being secure but it was play in the DEC axis.

Is that normal (I have no prior experience of these mounts) so I am not sure if this is business as usual or if I have a QC problem? I can't see anything I can adjust. I have read that you need to bias the balance so that it is always leaning against the drive direction, may be that's all that's required. :(

Thanks, Tony.

I noticed when mine arrived yesterday & after I'd assembled it that there was a slight amount of play. Looks like a day of tinkering may be in order.

Well I can't see us having clear skies now so I'll apologise in advance.:(

I've only tweaked the HEQ5 and find that mine works best WITH a slight bit of play in the RA axis but only a slight bit of play(this I asume this will vary from mount to mount). I also find it best to test gears for binding with a full load (the scope you want to use etc) on the mount and carrying out full rotations of both axis to check for any points in which the gears may start to bind prior to using the mount in anger! as adjusting in the dark is not the best :( try to slew the gears to all the points that you will use etc as there's nothing more frightening as listening to your mount start to sqeal and lock up in the middle of a meridean flip etc!!(usually for me when the scope is below the height of the counter weight if that makes sense).

Post back on how you get on mate!

Matt.

I had my neq6 spread all over the kitchen table for the last couple of days.I was suffering a jump in the RA when guiding causing elongated stars.