Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First Light Review Skywatcher Heritage 130P Mini Dob

Albenn

Well, the clouds finally cleared enough for me to think that I may finally be able to get out there and try out my first scope! So, as the sky continued to clear, I decided to follow the advice I had read and put the scope out to acclimatise.

I then thought that this would be a good opportunity to experience the difference between the view looking through a scope that had cooled down and one that hadn't, so decided to leave it a little later to put out the scope until it got a little darker so there would be something there for me to actually look at, plus if it began to rain, I wouldn't forget to bring the scope in if I got side-tracked.

So, between about 8.30 - 9, I saw Venus shining brightly and thought 'That'll do for me!' and went outside to set up. I am not experienced enough to give an accurate account of the seeing but there were huge gaps in the cloud and the stars that I could see were not twinkling much so I guess conditions were okay. I'd just like to add that I was viewing from our garden which look across a large car park and over a golf course so there isn't a lot of light pollution from that side and the house blocks out the street lighting from the other side. It's by no stretch of the imagination a 'dark site' but it's shielded quite well.

I had already collimated the scope a few days previously so I decided not to look straight away at Venus, but to point to another brightish star (sorry don't know it's name) and see if the collimation had worked by de-focussing and seeing if the 'polo mint' appeared.