Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

How many darks required???

sergeC14

Hello Gents,

I read somewhere on the web that using too few darks for calibration actually ADDED noise to the image...

Is this true?

I just spent 2 nights acquiring Hickson 44 and I have 36x10 min subs. How many darks should I use for calibation?

It's just that usually I use less darks than subs and my background is pretty noisy.

Thx

Serge

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

thx freddie.

Ok, but would 20 be enough for 36 subs?. Also, one thing I have noticed is that the sensor changes with time, so darks library is only useful for a couple of weeks of intensive CCD use.

Serge

Gina, et al,

I've been using AstroArt since I moved to CCD/DSLR a few years ago.

I find for spectroscopy a law of diminishing returns....the added noise from multiple darks v's the outcome. Yes, up to a point the summing of darks for a master adds more signal than noise (sqrt signal) but I find 8-10 max darks does the job as well as any.

(see Section 9.2, p131 of the AA Manual)

Just my 0.02 euro

Thx you, that's very informative.

I get alot of baseline "background" noise on my images (black background) whenever I try to bring out the faintest details (e.i faint galaxy arms), by having to stretch the lowest part of the histogram to the max. So, I was hoping that the number of darks I am using was the problem, but apparently, I already use plenty enough, usually around 15 regardless of the number of subs I have to calibrate...

I guess I now have to look elsewhere, but, that being said, my sky is not extremelly dark, so maybe I need look no further...

Regards

Serge

I've always been told to use an odd number of calibration files.

I don't need darks, but I do 31 Flats and normally 101 bias.

I actually don't know why an odd number...

Cheers

Ant

I always thought the rule was " as many darks as lights."

Remember there is noise in the darks too.