Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Camping at SGL7 - advice please?

roarke80

Hi, have booked my first ever star party at SGL7, am excited but also a bit perplexed at the whole camping thing (have not done it before), and I'm also terrified of the cold. Please can you give some advice on what kind of portable heater I should bring (I have rented a campervan but there's no heating in there). I would prefer an electric one as it's cleaner and safer, but what's the limit in terms of power I can draw?

Also, not sure what I'll need to plug into the EHU at Lucksall, what sort of special cable is required? Would it be too much to run a laptop and portable heater?

Also any other advice on must bring items would be greatly appreciated. I'm a complete noob at camping in the cold and also at stargazing so this would be an eye opener.

Thanks, much appreciated!

Hi there,

You need something like this ... Camping Site Mains Supply Unit - 3 Outlet: Amazon.co.uk: Sports & Leisure ... the round plug will fit into the EHU on your pitch (they are all the same) and as you can see there are three sockets on the other end for you to use with normal domestic plugs. Most importantly, it has a circuit breaker built in to protect you from any nasty accidents.

As for a heater, I normally take a cheap electric fan heater that has 1KW and 2KW settings and turn it on a bit before I'm ready to go to bed. I've no idea what would happen if everyone on the site turned their heaters on all at the same time but I've never known there be a blackout.

Make sure you buy a decent sleeping bag or take a good quilt to use with a less good one, it gets pretty cold at night.

Mike

Hi,

Whilst a good sleeping bag goes along way to keep you warm and you can wear additional clothes in the bag if required.

Secondly, substantial meals are important for keeping warm plus hot drinks like Bovril while stargazing keeps the heat in.