Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Why do People Colour Nebulaes etc in Post Processing?

I don't get it. You spend hours getting an incredible image with expensive photographic images. Then go and ruin it with photoshop. Ok, I'm an analogue photographer using film for my work most of the time. I love black and white and the higher tonal values over colour. I even prefer black and white movies lol. But I don't get why adjusting curves and adding complimentary colours which aren't true to the real thing is necessary. Ok it looks pretty. But if your going to invest thousands of pounds on atrophotography equipment and then ruin it all by colouring in like a child does at school its kinda sucks. This is just another opinion. But I'd rather have the truth.

• Replies 137
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sabina, good point. But then what are true colours. Everyone perceives colour differently, and as such sees the world slightly different to each other. Similarly I would bet that each camera manufacture will set their camera's up differently with biasing towards one side or another of the visible spectrum. Same way I guess that a 200ASA film from Kodak will give different colours or bolder colurs than the same rated film from Agfa ? Having said that I agree that in most images there is a lot of artistic license.... I can process an image of M42 and make it blue and violet, or orange and yellow...when I took an image with slide film with my old Vixen and Pratica film camera the result came back with blue and violet colouration, but when I used traditional Kodak prints it was more orange and brown !