Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Main Club Scope... best option?

Blackheart

Hi all

I wonder if you would mind giving me guidance, especially if you are involved with a club that tries to meet the needs of both beginner and those with more experience...

We have a small club in the Scottish Borders (Ancrum Astronomy Club near Jedburgh). We are just at the stage of applying for some funding to buy some equipment for the club and we need to decide what will be the centre piece of our observatory (run-off shed!). So far it's all wishful thinking but we are hoping to make it a reality. So, let's say we have £3000 to spend on a main telescope for the club.

Most of the people coming to the club are complete beginners but we have a few people who have some experience and would like to try their hand at astrophotography.

The main use of the scope would be for visual observing, with something that will perform well over as wide a range of celestial objects as possible.

We want something that is going to provide impressive views but is not so big that we need a squash court to house it and a step ladder to use it.

We also want something that is relatively easy to use so that youngsters and new members can begin to learn about the technology that can make life easier.

We also want something that is going to allow us to do some half decent astrophotography.

It's bad enough trying to decide on a telescope for yourself, never mind trying to satisfy the needs of a diverse group so I would really appreciate any thoughts or suggestions.

many thanks

BH

Hi Blackheart,

For my twopenny worth it would be an sct on a fork mount or a dob!!. To maximise viewing time I guess it would have to be goto. For ease of viewing an sct is probably easiest.