Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HEQ5-Pro LED

oshb5

Hi All

I thought while I was sorting out the gear backlash and re-lubing them I thought I would do Astro_Babys LED upgrade However Iv since found out the LED is already very dim. In this case it must be one of the later mounts as the powers that be apparently had complaints about the LED brightness and subsequently added a resistor in circuit to lower it on the later mounts. Which is good that I have a later mount but bad that I wanted t do the variable brightness mod. Has anyone managed to do this mod on one of the later mounts please ?

Regs Andy

Hi

As im new to the HEQ mounts as this is my first one. Im used to the CG5 And Goto with a Ioptron system. that all said can i get the following right. In the first instance the HEQ5 was made with brite LED Next they added a resistor to dim the LED then in the next HEQ5 they made the LED variable from the handset is this correct? If so How can you find out which is which without turning the mount on and looking up the polar scope. Is there a difference between the handsets or is it just later firmware?

Regs Andy

Hi Andy.

If the situation with the (H)EQ5 is anything like the (N)EQ6 (and it may not be), you'll need a version 2.x (currently 2.04.00) internal control board, and a version 3 handset with version 3.21 or later firmware installed. (The latest firmware version is 3.27 IIRC.)

With all of those things there will be a menu item for controlling the brightness of the PAS LED, but, if any of those are absent, you will not have that function available.

Just to repeat that those are the requirements of the (N)EQ6 and may differ from the (H)EQ5.

Karlo if you use EQMOD then that can be utilised to determine the MCB version.

I've cut and pasted the relevant bit from the FAQ below;

How do I determine the board version in my mount?