Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher EQ3-2 mount?

Dave1

Hello im new to Astronomy. Now im familar with the scope and how to set the mount up except for 1 point. The setting circles. The RA setting circle on my mount.

I'm hoping a person with the Skywatcher EQ3-2 mount can help. In the paper GB manual that came with the Skywatcher 150pl scope and EQ3-2 mount. On page 16, Fig n. It shows the RA setting circle. In the text below Fig n. It says it shows 8h 20m. Now unless i don't get it. It shows nothing of the sort.

I make it on the northern hemisphere scale 0h 23m. On the sountern hemisphere scale i make it 24h 43m.

Are my figures correct? Is the manual wrong? Any help would be greatly received. So that i know im reading the setting circles corectly.

Hello i already have a pdf from optical vision on the Skywatcher eq3-2 mount. I have already read what they are about and how to use them. Just not want to make sure i am reading the setting circles scale correctly. In the links you provided they arn't even the same mount or same scale layout. And i know know how to do a polar alignment. That part in my the manuals that came with the scope is correct.

Like i said in original post. I need to comfirm the skywatcher gb manual, fig n on page 16 that came with the scope is wrong. For my peace of mind. That i know according to the pdf on the Skywatcher Eq3-2 mount from optical vision. I'm reading the setting circles right.

Th RA circle on the EQ3-2 spins round so you can set to whatever you want. You only need to lock it for polar alignment if you have a polar scope fitted.

When observing, point your scope at a star that you know the RA and DEC coordinates for, and set the circles to show the right coordinates. You can then (in theory) use the setting circles to dial in the coordinates for any other object you chose and it will be in the finder scope. It's never worked quite like that in my experience.