Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Meade LPI experience anyone ?

Does anyone have experience of using a Meade LPI ?

I know that they are not the best imaging solution available but I picked one up for a song recently and I'd like to give it a go. I've no imaging experience but I just want to have some fun with the moon and brighter planets.

Any good "1st steps" web sites for the LPI you can recommend ?.

Thanks,

John

The manual says it's equivilent to a 6mm eyepiece which tallies with the view compared with an actuall 6mm eyepiece.

Judging from the lack of feedback (apart from yours Gary - thanks !) I reckon I'm on my own with this one !.

John

Hi John,

I've got one too - the picture of Saturn that's my avatar was taken with one. That was a complete fluke!!! I have been unable to replicate anything like it. I was hoping that someone would come to your aid and I could tag along... :?

Ah well... any insights you get I'd be grateful to know about :D

Helen

• 1 year later...

Hello

I just posted this:

http://stargazerslounge.com/beginners-help-advice/77946-viewing-moon-meade-lpi.html

It may help though I think we already have an expert present looking at Helen's piccie - very nice, I can see Cassini's division in there.

I took this movie of Saturn and the Moon with mine - you may have trouble viewing it since it uses an MPEG2 codec, but you can get a free one if you search the web a bit.

Saturn-Moon occultation

Oops, just re-read my page and this sequence was from the DSI, but I was also using the LPI at the time.

Iain

Sorry John, only just noticed this 'thread'

I've had an LPI for a few years now, and its exactly what the name says, a Lunar Planetary Imager.

I also bought a Phillips SPC900NC, and quite frankly, there's nothing much to choose between them.

It would be unfair to compare it with a modded webcam, Skynix or DMK, as it doesn't pretend to be any of those.