NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Celestron Nexstar 6SE

I thought I'd share my thoughts about this scope that I purchased a month ago from Sherwoods. I would like to point out that I would have dearly loved the 8SE but the cost was just beyond what I could pursuade my wife to let me spend. :angry: I am fairly new to the hobby so this is not an experts view, but that of a beginner. It arrived the day after I ordered it (excellent quick service) and was well packaged which gave me confidence that it should be in good condition after its journey - sure enough it was absolutely fine.

Assembly was very easy and the instructions were clear and precise. Everything fitted perfectly including the accessories tray that doubles up as a spreader for the tripod. So far so good. Now my problems started. I inserted the 8 AA batteries and switched on - Nothing - dead as a DoDo - tried 8 other batteries - same result. I was now beginning to get a bit concerned so I thought I'd try the Mains DC adaptor that Sherwoods had included as part of the package. Plugged in and switched on - still nothing - After the panic had subsided I decided to get my circuit tester and check the continuity of the batteries in the scope - sure enough, there was no contact between the first 4 and last 4 batteries - the battery holder needed "adjusting" so that it would make contact. Hey presto - success - it powered up. So why didn't the DC adaptor work - Ok so I'd missed something really obvious - the transformer on it has different voltage settings (it's just a general purpose DC adaptor - not a Celestron one) - it was set at the minimum output of 3 volts!!! - Once adjusted to 12volts it now also workedSo to put it to work –