Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New telescope - beginer's advice for beginers

Hello,

I thought I would share my opinions on a new telescope I've recently purchased. I'm buzzing with excitement and somehow feel the urge to share it, but most of all I thought it would help make new buyers' minds.

I am an astro beginner, however, I've been scanning the sky with binoculars and a tiny 20x50mm refractor for the last year or so, so I can find my way around and I'm generally familiar with what's happening above.

I live in a flat in Oxford, fortunately not in the centre, but in the south, nearly outskirts. It takes me 15 minutes to walk to a meadow by the Thames, far from street lights (even the Milky Way and M31 can be seen naked eye, roughly), but even from my terrace the views are doable. I don't own a car.

All above factors narrowed my choice a lot. I've been having a telescope on my mind for the last 6 months at least and always wanted a 200p skyliner or explorer, but then I thought I would need something more portable and easy to use. The Skyliner and its base seemed a little too big and heavy to carry around. I think you need a garden with a dark sky or/and a car to take it somewhere dark. it would be a waste of kit in my case. The Explorer seemed too difficult to use. I can't even see the polar star from my terrace because it faces south, so wouldn't be able to align the scope and carrying the tripod, mount and counterweights would be too much of a workout as well. Besides a friend of mine has one on HEQ5 syncscan and gorgeous as it when it's working, the set up takes time and you have to do a lot of pretzel-like gymnastics around the tripod. Equatorials are not very user friendly, especially for beginners and those who want to scan the sky left, right, up and down, that's my opinion.