NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Confusion!

My second post about getting a telescope!

Thanks for all the replies and comments in here. With all your help now I am planning to get a Skywatcher Explorer 150P with EQ3-2 mount. But last night while readings some other threads, I have found another scope for the same price which is Skywatcher Explorer 150PL with the same mount. :):confused::(:confused::):confused:

Differences are:

1. 150P is coming with 1.25/2" CRAYFORD focuser.
  2. Focal length (150P 750mm ƒ5 and 150PL 1200mm ƒ8)
  3. Barlow lens in 150P and Deluxe Barlow in 150PL
  4. Direct SLR connection in 150P and nothing is mentioned for 150PL
  5. Tube rings and Dovetail mounting bars are coming with 150P

Now my questions may sound really stupid, my apologies for that. I am really new to this

1. What is the difference between Barlow and deluxe Barlow lens?
  2. "Direct SLR connection" does this mean any other accessories that will be supplied with the package?
  3. Why do I need tube rings and dovetail mounting bars for?
  4. Most importantly, what would be the key differences of 750mm and 1200mm for my viewing?

Also just to let you know, I am not after astro-photography at this stage (Thanks for the good advices in the previous post). I might try some photos of moon, mounting my Sony alpha DSLRs, nothing more. Yet I'd also prefer the direct SLR connection thing and any other accessories related that.

Thanks

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

1. as far as I know there is no difference between a 2x barlow and a deluxe 2x barlow. I think they are one and the same thing.

2. the 'direct connection to SLR' just means the focusser has a t-thread on it so you can screw a t-ring onto it rather than use a separate adaptor. I use a separate 2" adaptor because then I can use filters as well.

3. tube rings and a dovetail bar are the 'clampy bits that attach the scope to the mount, they are common to both models.