Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Dew Shield - Shield, Dryer or Heater

Hi all

Just a brief background first, I am pretty new to Astronomy as in approx 6 weeks and last night I popped out hoping to catch Saturn, so I set all my Kit up outside around 21:30, thinking get out there early to let the kit acclimatise and have a look around at other objects.

I have a Meade 8” SCT LX10 EMC, a Philips webcam and now a Meade DSI II Colour camera, so set the tripod up facing North, plugged the camera in and into the laptop, focused on a star and the motor kept it pretty much dead centre of the screen for 10 mins etc, so I was thinking perfect.

After about 20 minutes I popped around the front and discovered the front lens or aperture was covered in Dew.

My question is what is the best Dew prevention?

1) Dew Shield

2) Dew Heater

3) Hair dryer

Has anyone any experience of all or any and do any work 100%, any I should not use etc?

And finally for a Dew shield any good links or cheapest places to buy?

Also do the rollup versions work as well as the fixed plastic ones?

Finally do they also help to keep light pollution out?

Hopefully thanks

Keith

Dew shield-rolled corrugated cardboard,sellotape.Adjust according to needs.Acts as good light shield as well,if you have street light problem.That is,unless you want to accumulate expensive gizmos that work no better than the economy versions. My roll came from e bay,£3.65 delivered,with enough for dew shields galore and lots of parcels for those gizmos you will get round to selling eventually.Happy gazing.

Hi Keith,

A foam camping mat cut to size and held closed on the 'scope with Velcro strips.

It'll need to extend out beyond the meniscus lens by at least twice the diameter of the aperture.

Dave's thank you, very good ideas and comments and out of interest have any of you tried the alternatives?

The only thing I am thinking with cardboard to you end up with bits stuck to your lens?