Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Tripod height question

parvee

Hi,

Total newb here, just starting with binos (15x70). I know I'll need a tripod with these and I know it should be solid. But how high should it be, so it's comfortable to use the binos (I'm 5ft9, 179cm). Whatcha think?

I dont think there has ever been a definitive answer to this question. When you think about it, the human head only really tilts back comfortably about 45-60 degrees from a looking straight forward position. So you want a tripod that is about 6 inch taller then you are when it is fully extended.

This is all pure guess work.

how high should it be, so it's comfortable to use the binos

With the binoculars mounted, pointing level and the centre column fully down, the eyepieces should be at the same height as your eyes when standing normally (or sitting, or kneeling, or however you find most comfortable). How high the tripod is depends on how much extra height the head and mounting bracket add. The extra height needed when the bins are pointing above the horizon can be got by judicious use of the rising centre column, saves messing around with the leg height.

Try to avoid using the second slider in the legs if at all possible, the load carrying capacity and general solidity is reduced if you do.

I've also been wondering about this because being 6'2'' I am gonna be struggling so I have done some browsing for suitable tripods.

FLO do the Horizon one (Tripods - Horizon 8115 2-Way Heavy Duty Tripod) which has a rated height of 180cm. If you use a ballhead like this one Triton Panhead, Ballhead Action Grip for tripod on eBay (end time 18-Feb-11 12:02:50 GMT) it will probably be about the right height for you.

I think I wiil be going for the same ballhead on the tripod at the bottom of this page Binoculars UK Ltd. Camlink TP PRO Tripods

It goes to 200cm and gets very good reviews.